Share Your "My First Fleet" Stories

• alt text
    The first time doing anything can be scary. Knowing that others experienced the same thoughts & feelings but made it through can make it a little less scary. This thread is dedicated to sharing the (good/bad/ugly) story of your first fleet experience.

My first fleet experience was... well, it wasn't. Let me explain.

I started playing EVE on 1/1/18 and joined Signal Cartel on 1/9/18. The SC birthday fleet was scheduled for 1/13/18. I wanted to participate but wasn't sure I was ready. I went back and forth between "yes, do it" and "no, don't" for several days. On the day of the event, I had finally talked myself into doing it.

I was in the form-up station in Thera and ready to go. I had no idea what I was doing, didn't really know anyone in SC, and was too nervous to ask questions in Alliance Chat. As departure time approached, I became really anxious. I jumped the gun a bit and undocked before the rest of the fleet. I was instantly podded right outside of the station.

It was awful. I felt awful. I remember thinking that it was probably for the best, since I wouldn't have done well anyway. I didn’t even know what “doing well” meant, but I was sure I would have made a mess of things.

A little while later, I saw an announcement for one of the Vulfpup fleets. I decided to try again, and went out with the group on 2/9/18. I ended up back in a new clone in Zoohen again (lesson: don't get too far away from Logi) but it was a great time and I ended up "doing ok" while I was out with the fleet.

My advice: don't miss out on a great time because you've never done it before, and don't hesitate to ask for help if you need it. Everyone in this corp is willing to lend you a hand and answer a question at any time. It's one of my favorite things about SC!

• @Theana-Gaterau

OMG, I remember that !!! Glad you stuck it out mate. 8-D

Here's one of my first Market Mistakes:

=-=

Originally posted here on Nov 27, 2016, 7:24 PM